74 Comments
author

That was fun. Turns out I did NOT overestimate your Bundesliga excitement. Enjoyed watching with you all, as always. I'll keep these going, and we'll probably do another one for the Bayern game tomorrow. Have a great day, all.

Expand full comment
author

LMFAOOOOOOOOOOO

Expand full comment
author

This has suddenly devolved into chippy-Sunday-league territory. Everyone forgot how to pass.

Expand full comment
author

Going down 2-0 within seven minutes is always bad, but it's gotta be especially crushing after two months off. Gotta be so hard to bounce back mentally and have to chase the game physically.

Expand full comment
author

Andre Silva just punched Ginter in the kidneys. Feels like he's violating multiple protocols there.

Expand full comment
author

For the people currently watching Fox Sports and listening to Mark Schwarzer drone on about how Frankfurt are in danger of relegation: FiveThirtyEight currently gives them a less-than-one-percent chance of getting relegated.

Expand full comment
author

Play on, Plea. (Sorry.)

Expand full comment
May 16, 2020Liked by Ryan O'Hanlon

what are we calling these goal celebrations? social distdancing?

Expand full comment
May 16, 2020Liked by Ryan O'Hanlon

Whew! Well, there was definitely some rust to shake off, but it was nice to drink some coffee and have some live sports back on the television. Thanks for hosting the chat!

Expand full comment
author

Managers are adjusting. There have been halftime subs in five of the six games today.

Expand full comment
author

Anyone else more thrown off by the terrible haircuts than the lack of fans?

Expand full comment
author

See what I mean about high-quality shots!

Expand full comment
author

Did I, uh, overestimate the excitement for the Bundesliga? I think I may have overestimated the excitement for the Bundesliga.

Expand full comment
author

I wrote about Frankfurt in the Tuesday newsletter, but here's a note about Gladbach's style: They take the best shots in the league (0.16 xG per shot; league average is 0.12), and the concede the worst shots in the league (0.097; league average is "see: above").

Expand full comment

What. Was. That.

Expand full comment

So is there not gonna be any regulation regarding crowding the ref? I don't see why there's a policy regarding goal celebrations but not that -- it'd also be nothing but a net positive to get rid of it.

Expand full comment

After one day of matches, my biggest takeaway is generally being impressed by how quickly these guys have gotten back to normal football shithousery. There’s something reassuring about seeing Andre Silva totally MF a ref after clearly fouling somebody, the disputes over the penalties, etc.

Expand full comment

I have to say, it's pretty nice to watch a Bundesliga match and not have Alexi Lalas disrupt my viewing pleasure.

Expand full comment

You really notice Zakaria's absence at the back and in the build-up play for Gladbach I think.

Expand full comment

After yesterday's result, on a scale of 1-10 how excellent was my supporter pick of Wolsfburg and why is it 12?

Expand full comment

That was some getting-passed-while-celebrating-on-your-way-to-the-finish-line kind of shit

Expand full comment

I’m late to the party and not even in the right thread, but I’m finishing up a 30-hour call cycle in the hospital and deliriously tired and having my Bundesliga team assigned is suddenly the most important thing in the world to me.

- three days ago, because I’ve been working so much lately hadn’t seen my kids at all and just missed them (I promise I’m not usually this melancholy in public)

- Gonna go with recency bias and say Rise of Skywalker, and I was relatively pro-Last Jedi!

- The Texas Rangers losing Game 6. I now have a more recent time I cried after typing that out.

Honorable mentions to the Saints losing to the 49ers in NFC Championship 2011 and Pelicans blowing a huge lead in 2015.

Expand full comment

Gladbach’s defense paying homage to the maginot line on that goal 😂😂😂

Expand full comment

Man, the celebratory fight song after that goal with no crowd to chant along feels very apropos for the 3-1 scoreline.

Expand full comment

I was very nervous about having the guy who tightened up from a play moments earlier taking the PK, but that'll do.

Expand full comment

Strikers never get yellows for those kind of challenges on us defenders.

Expand full comment

So do we think the break benefited the more talented teams or the better managers to knock off the rust easier?

Expand full comment

The "Jobs Finden" tagline for Indeed is elite kit advertisement

Expand full comment

Thank goodness for Yann Sommer

Expand full comment

After 2 months reading about Rose’s system and French strikers, they have not disappointed

Expand full comment

AND ANOTHER ONE!!! Man, welcome back, Borussia! 😊

Expand full comment

Not me! THIRTY-FIVE SECONDS!!! (Just had to post the celebration on IG 😛)

Expand full comment

As a Gladbach fan, I'm stoked to get to watch my team again!

Expand full comment