163 Comments
author

The Bundeslig-Oracle has been on deadline each of the past two days, but he will answer all of your queries over the next few days. Thanks for participating -- and sorry for the hardships you've all been through.

Expand full comment

1) Last I can remember was when I told my wife about Shea Serrano giving away over 100K to the SA food bank. A true hero for our time.

2) Batman and Robin, 1997 Joel Schumacher director.

3) 1998 NFC Championship Game. Everything went wrong right before halftime and you could just tell. The Vikes would have beat the Broncos that year.

Expand full comment

1. The other night when thinking about how much I miss hanging out with the people I love.

2. Batman vs. Superman. It's not bad in a funny way it's just painfully bad.

3. Raptors v 76ers game 7 2019

Expand full comment

1. About 2 weeks ago - I was running through my neighborhood at sunset, “won’t back down” by Tom Petty came on over my headphones, and just seeing people out walking (in masks) but still living life and staying positive despite the pandemic got me pretty emotional.

2. Ford Vs. Ferrari, because the book it’s based on (“go like hell” by aj ellis) is one of my all time favorites, and I’d been anticipating the movie adaptation for about 4 years. It’s not that the movie was bad, but it wasn’t nearly as good as the book and was super dumbed down. I left the theater so disappointed/angry because that movie could have been an all-time great and they phoned it in, producing an average film.

3. 2013 niners-ravens super bowl. I’m a lifelong niners fan, grew up hearing my dad talk about the great teams of the 80’s, studying them through documentaries, etc. the year before (2012) we’d been to the NFC championship and come up short. In 2013 we start the super bowl by emphatically getting our asses kicked for a half, but suddenly the power goes out, we start a huge comeback, are driving in the 4th quarter to win the game, and I’m thinking about how I’m going to remember this game for the rest of my life...and we come up short. I had come back to San Francisco from school on the east coast just to watch the game, and we fucking lost after nearly pulling off an all time comeback. I remember going to dinner with my family afterwards, and the city was completely dead. Absolutely brutal.

Expand full comment

- watching the Season 3 finale of The Good Place

- Cannonball Run

- Steph Curry Davidson v Kansas in the Elite 8

Expand full comment

Last week, rewatching Hunt for the Wilderpeople.

Battlefield Earth; it's the only movie that's actively given me a migraine, and I usually love bad movies.

This is a hard one. I'm going to go with France 1-0 Belgium from the 2018 World Cup. For the record, I was not rooting for France.

Expand full comment

Yesterday night.

Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift

Cricket World Cup

Expand full comment

1) One of my players losing her dad

2) The most recent fantastic 4

3) When Marco Reus put Dortmund up 3-1 against Liverpool in 2016 and the announcer said something to the effect of "surely it's over now." Or 'Corner Taken Quickly'.

Expand full comment

Birth of my daughter.

The Ringer

The University of Dayton defeating Ohio State in the first round of the 2014 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament

Expand full comment

third week of quar due to loneliness and panic

all dogs go to heaven (depressing)

when steph hit that 38-footer to beat the thunder

Expand full comment

-Last week while watching Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

-Off the top of my head? I'm still mad at how much I hated The Phantom Thread

-Jets second round victory over the Patriots in the 2010-11 playoffs

Expand full comment

1. Two Weeks Ago watching The Wire

2. Manchurian Candidate

3. 2016 World Series Game 7 (Lifelong Cubs fan)

Expand full comment

-A few weeks ago, cleaning out some storage and I found some cards from my grandma from before dementia set in

-Titanic

-Liverpool 4, Barca 0 (in case that does count b/c of recency bias, then probably the Celtics blowing a 10-point lead in the 4th quarter of G7 in the 2010 NBA Finals

Expand full comment

-1 month ago

-The rise of sky walker

-dream team Monte Carlo scrimmage.

Expand full comment

-Putting our family dog down a few months ago

-Rise of Skywalker

-UNC losing the national title game to Villanova on Kris Jenkins' BS prayer of a buzzer beater in 2016

Expand full comment

- Saturday morning watching Besiktas fans singing together

- Under the Silver Lake

- Villanova's 2016 NCAA Tournament run

Expand full comment

Within the week

Thor 2

Super Bowl XLIV. I'm a Colts fan

Expand full comment

Please answer this one for my brother. He’s never watched a full game of soccer in his life, I think, but he’s thinking about getting into the Bundesliga given the lack of sporting options. I’ve done my best to steer him toward Dortmund, but he’s skeptical.

His responses:

1. I cried at a particularly beautiful performance on The Voice last night.

2. My least favorite movie is the Hannah Montana movie

3. Altuve home run to beat the Yankees in 2019 Game 7 ALCS.

Expand full comment

- top chef;

- the souvenir (wtf was that);

- watching Egypt play Uruguay with my (Egyptian) dad in their first game of World Cup 2 years ago

Expand full comment

-Watching When They See Us

-Now You See Me

-City v Spurs 2nd leg in last years Champions League

Expand full comment

- About a week

- Saw

- Celtic beating Barcelona 2-1 in 2012

Expand full comment

- Wednesday

- Star Wars Episode 1

- UVa beating Texas Tech in the 2019 National Championship

Expand full comment

Sunday, when my brother read his Mother’s Day card

Age of Ultron

Robben getting a second yellow for celebrating in the stands after scoring against Sunderland. It would be Kawhi against the sixers but that’s too recent and not nearly as funny.

Expand full comment

1. At a fundraiser for rare cancers in early March.

2. The Village

3. The Packers collapse in the 2014 NFC Championship against the Seahawks

Expand full comment

last fall at my grandpas funeral

legion

philadelphia eagles super bowl

Expand full comment

1. After moving out of college, this week

2. Aloha

3. Liverpool vs Barcelona at Anfield

Expand full comment

1. Late February, this year

2. The Fast and The Furious

3. 2010 NLCS Game 6, Giants vs. Phillies

Expand full comment

1) College graduation, 1 year ago.

2) The Hobbit

3) 2009 NFC Championship Game: Bounty Gate. As a Vikings fan, this day lives in infamy for many reasons..

Expand full comment

1. At the end of Onward

2. Alien Covenant. One of the only movies I just turned off in the middle and still don’t care what happened next

3. 2009 champions league semifinal Chelsea-Barcelona 2nd leg aka “a fucking disgrace”

Expand full comment

1. When we found out our foster baby would have to go back to his mother two weeks ago.

2. Along Came Polly

3. Devin Hester's kick return in the Bears-Colts Super Bowl.

Expand full comment

1. When I quit a job I loved bc of a change in management 2 ish years ago.

2. Kung Pao: Enter the Fist. It reinvents awful

3. Brandon Bostick not recovering the onside kick against the Seahawks in the NFC championship game

Expand full comment

1. I'm not gonna lie, reading some of the sadness in this text thread, seems like a lotta indescribable pain summarized casually in one or two sentences.

2. Some wack transformers movie I thought would be bad when i was taken to it, but even I was not prepared for the absolute tire fire.

3. Too many options to really consider if we looking all time, so best to just go recency bias here, and just say the awesome 10 point comeback in 7 minutes by Mahomes and company, everything from 3rd and 15 onwards.

Expand full comment

1. Super Bowl, Kansas finally winning it all this year

2. Sicario Day of the soldado

3. Mexico v Netherlands, "No Era Penal"

Expand full comment

1. Yesterday. Lost my mom in January. If that's too heavy then I was listening to "Changes" by Phil Ochs a couple of weeks ago and it got me.

2. The movie I have the most active ire towards is Remember the Titans. Phenomenal actors and moments, but overcome by horrific sports scenes and an insulting navigation of racism (if we all just listened to Marvin Gaye's 14th best song, racism would be solved)!

3. Unfortunately the Falcons blowing their 28-3 lead. I still cling to just how close the parallel universe exists where the pats lost. It'd have been a tiny victory amidst all the BS of 2017 but ATL > Boston, beating Trump's team, etc would have been a nice moment. I think a lot about how marginal outcomes are and how different things would look if the alternative happened.

Expand full comment

-Watching the last scene in Furious 7

-Prometheus

-2009 Game 7 Stanley Cup Finals

Expand full comment

-watching Normal People on Hulu

-Finding Nemo

-Germany beating Brazil 7-1

Expand full comment

- A month ago, don't recall exactly but probably something about parent-kid relationships

- Death of a Nation

- Liverpool's 2019 CL comeback against Barcelona

Expand full comment

-Probably yesterday, lots of Pixar these days

-Any sequel that is good but not better than the first

-Moura hat trick

Expand full comment

- on a plane to vancouver from jfk

- i feel pretty

- asian champions league

Expand full comment

When we put our 17 year old dog down last year.

The English Patient

2004 Red Sox playoffs

Expand full comment

February

Green Lantern with Ryan Reynolds

Patriots vs Falcons Super Bowl (as a Falcons fan sadly)

Expand full comment

- near the end of 1917

- Batman v Superman

- 2016 NBA Finals Game 7

Expand full comment

Watching a tik tok yesterday

show- kardashians

bills making the playoffs for the first time in 17 years

Expand full comment

- Two nights ago for no particular reason

- According to my Letterboxd ratings, Stuck on You

- 2010 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship Game (Gordon Hayward's missed shot)

Expand full comment

1. Yesterday

2. Whiplash

3. Game 7 of the 2000 Western Conference Finals (Blazers fan here)

Expand full comment

1. Never (What is this salty discharge???)

2. Man of Steel

3. College football rivalry games

Expand full comment

- Late January

- The Cable Guy

- MLB Opening Day

Expand full comment

1. 2 weeks ago

2. Batman v Superman

3. City v Spurs VAR

Expand full comment

- Watching Cinema Paradiso - the ending makes me cry. but it's like a sad / happy cry

- Baby Driver! haha, nah but seriously, Titanic

- Any time I'm doing a flywheel class, I swear I'm Egan Bernal winning the Tour de France

Expand full comment

1. This weekend while watching Normal People

2. The Accountant with Ben Affleck is truly terrible

3. 2018 Rose Bowl Georgia v. Oklahoma/ 2019 Liverpool v. Barcelona 2nd Leg

Expand full comment